Fresh gnawed…

Well, hey there. How ya doin’? Oh, I see you’re reading this, so I’ll let you get to it…

A lot has been going on lately on the fiction writing front. I have been writing more than ever, with three stories subbed and waiting on razors and switchblades for responses. Just finished a novelette (shot for a short story, but got excited) and searching for a publisher that takes such rare things. Currently working on a zombie novella set in Tibet. I know, I know, those who know me have heard me say that I would NEVER write a zombie piece, you can spank me later. Don’t get me wrong, I love zombie stories, but I feel they are just too common now. But this concept I have intrigues my mad mind too much not to write it down, so I’m jumping on the zombie bandwagon (hmm that’s another idea, damnit).

Now the big news, at least for me, is the September 1 release of Fading Light: An Anthology of the Monstrous of which my short story, The Long Death of Day, is a part. It’s my first accepted story (Mom! I’m a real life author now!) so I’m pretty damn pumped. Proud as can be to be part of such a well done anthology and published next to such horror writer gods as Mark Lawrence, Gene O’Neill, William Meikle, David Daglish, Gord Rollo, and Nick Cato. When I received the acceptance email from editor Tim Marquitz and saw who I would be hanging with, I think I pooped a little. Here’s an early blurb exclaiming it’s awesomeness:

“With it’s stellar lineup of authors and the great premise that gives them room to weave their magic, Fading Light accomplishes what far too many fail to: it stands out from the pack as something unique, terrifying, and wholly readable from first pages to last.” — Bryan Hall, author of The Southern Hauntings Saga and Containment Room 7.

Damn, I think I wanna read that! To read an excerpt from my story, scroll down.

To keep tabs on the upcoming release go to: http://www.facebook.com/FadingLightAntho

For those of you that remember Hellbug, my novel  that I had been working on for over a year, well that’s been trunked. After sweating and bleeding over it for so long, I finally got up the gumption and the money to send it to The Editorial Department and into the capable hands of editor and friend R.J. Cavender. Let’s just say I learned alot of things, one being  that I ain’t the badass writer I thought I was! Logic and severe POV problems abounded. But have no fear, I learned my lessons well and despite having taken some bruising in honing my craft, I’ll pull Hellbug out once again after getting some other projects done, and rewrite the cursed hell beast!

Ok, assignment done. When you finish the excerpt below, leave a comment, good or bad, and then let’s go have a beer.

Image

Excerpt from The Long Death of Day by Timothy Baker,  included in the upcoming Fading Light: An Anthology of the Monstrous. Published by Angelic Knight Press and edited by Tim Marquitz.

***

     The end of the Earth came not with a whimper or bang. No herald trumpets of angels filled the air in glorious announcement. Neither did the dead rise and walk to consume our flesh. It crept like a chilled blanket across our skies, dimming the warm light of the sun till the Earth turned dark. But that wasn’t the worst of it. With this unending eclipse came something from beyond the outer rim of our solar system; came as the ever hungry worms of a cemetery devour the newly buried dead.

     And for all this, I had a front row seat.

     My clock says it’s one in the afternoon, but looking out my wall size window I see only deep shadow beyond the wall of brightness coming from the floodlights that surround my house. Their children wander in that shadow, surrounded by an inky cloudy darkness they seem to emanate on their own, much like our earthly squid. In what number, I don’t know. Thousands. Perhaps millions by now. Eating whatever lives and breathes while their sky living elders scrape and devour the surface of the Earth.     

    Through my skylight the sun hangs, obscured in black, with only the edge of its corona shining like two facing slender shining coins. The sky is clear and stars hang there precariously, threatened by the howling chill wind outside. Beyond the mountains across the valley, a deeper shadow lines the horizon. It grows and spreads by the hour. It’s the unearthly cloud that contains them deep in its ever expanding belly, their bodies hidden from sight. Won’t be long now. The window shakes in its thick oak frame and I feel the Earth shudder beneath my feet…

9 thoughts on “Fresh gnawed…

  1. It is certainly a long and winding, and often bumpy road, isn’t it? Your writing style is captivating, I just wish your genre was more to my liking! I look forward to keeping up with all that you are up to via this brand, spankin’ new blog!

    Like

    • Yes Grace, it certainly is, and a bumpy, forking, sometimes driving-in-the-ditch-and-digging-out-to-careen-on road. You should watch the movie Sorcerer to get the idea of how I feel sometimes; Roy Schreider driving a re-built truck carrying a load of nitroglycerin sweating TNT through a South American jungle with an assassin as your driving buddy! Never a dull moment.

      And I find it quite interesting that despite your cringing at my preferred genre, you are still captivated. 🙂

      Like

      • Well, you write very well. If you didn’t write skeevy stuff, I would read all of your works, not just part of it. 😉 And as for watching the movie you suggested, I’ll take a pass on that. I believe there was a very similar episode on “Little House on the Prairie.” Pa Ingalls and friend had to transport a wagonload of nitroglycerin over very rutted, rough ground at gunpoint. So you see, I get the picture in spite of never watching the movie.

        Like

  2. woooooohooooooo i want to read mooooooooooooore :-))
    As usually wonderfully written (can you say that for a your genre lol).
    You dumped Hellbug ? but but i spend houuuuuuuurs on reading that and i loved it 😉

    Now i want to read more of The long death of day but be careful you dont use too much description of atmosphere, characters and so on…. I know its important to capture the reader and set the scene but we want action also ;-))

    Good luck mr Author and we are all looking forward til September 1st

    Like

    • Noooo, I didn’t DUMP Hellbug, I just set it aside for the time being so I can come back to it with a fresh outlook. I had spent so much time with it, it began to feel like an old wool blanket, familiar but so damn itchy! And I have so many other projects in mind that they were beginning to bottleneck at the Hellbug construction site.

      As for the need for action, you’ll get it all right. That excerpt was just a taste to get readers to want more…and you do, don’t ya, uh huh, I knew it. Besides, it’s already written and in the bag!

      And thanks, Lolli, you have long been one of my greatest supporters for this crazy writing adventure I’ve set myself to, and I hope to never disappoint. 🙂

      Like

  3. I have had the great honor to consider myself more than a fan of your work. Your storytelling ability has kept me on the edge of my seat for ages untold. MORE !

    Like

Leave a Reply

